Gregory Wins Bunch Sprint To Claim Road Race

Tom Gregory sprinted to victory to claim this years Alan Goddard Memorial Road Race, promoted by Newport Shropshire Cycling Club. The race which was held on a new course at Ellerdine was ideal for sprinters and the cooler temperatures made this more likely. A group of 6 riders did manage to build a minutes gap on the rest of the field but they were pulled back by the start of the first lap.

As the finish approached it was Tom Gregory of Halesowen ACC who managed to get half a bike lengths advantage and grab the victory.

Colin Mattinson of Newport CC finished a creditable fifth with less than 2 seconds covering the first 20 riders.


Well done to all those who rode in this event. It was almost Ideal conditions. Thanks to everyone who helped out particularly Paul Crone for sorting out the Marshals.

Thanks to Richard Goddard and Deanna Goddard for organising a great event.


1stTom GregoryHalesowen ACC
2ndMark FlayStratford Cycle Studio
3rdMatt BonehillMamouth Lifestyle
4thAlex O'SullivanAchieve Skinnergate
5thColin Mattinson         Newport Shropshire Cycling Club
6thPatrick FotheringhamHalesowen ACC
7thNick PreeceClimb on Bikes
8thEdward SilvertonBicicelo
9thDavid BatesMamouth Lifestyle
10thJustin HarcourtUrban Cyclery

[fbvinyl id=700528750013926]

Comments are closed.